The work of identifying global and national KBAs across Canada is currently led by regional and thematic coordinators, who are well-immersed in local conservation networks, and experts of the regional flora and fauna. If you’d like to find out more about KBAs in your area, or if there’s a site you would like to propose as a KBA, please reach out to the coordinator in your region.

British Columbia Ian Adams iadams@wcs.org
Alberta and Saskatchewan Michael Rudy mrudy@wcs.org
Manitoba Zachary Moore zacharymilosmoore@gmail.com
Ontario Robyn Rumney rrumney@wcs.org
Québec Kim Gauthier Schampaert kim.gauthier.schampaert@usherbrooke.ca
Yukon, Northwest Territories, and Nunavut Maria Leung leungreid@northwestel.net
Ecosystem KBAs across Canada Lucy Poley lpoley@wcs.org
Bird-designated KBAs and IBA-to-KBA transition across Canada Amanda Bichel abichel@birdscanada.org

Manitoba and Atlantic Canada (including Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, PEI, Newfoundland and Labrador) currently do not have a regional coordinator. Contact the KBA Canada Assessment and Outreach Coordinator, Peter Soroye (psoroye@wcs.org), to discuss KBAs in these regions.

Past Coordinators

KBA Canada is also incredibly grateful to the past coordinators who have committed their time, energy, and passion towards identifying KBAs across Canada:

Sarah Robinson (Atlantic Canada)

Caitlin Porter (Atlantic Canada)

Karin Newman (Prairies, including Alberta, Saskatchewan, and Manitoba)

Riley Pollom (British Columbia)